The TOP Advisory Board was established on 2nd September 1998 by the Rotary Club of Blacktown City Inc to provide much-needed administrative and financial support for Co-ordinator, Graham Symes.

The Advisory Board comprises the following members.

Honorary Chairman David R. Bamford OAM

David is a retired Senior Manager with NRMA who joined the organisation in 1965 and retired in 1996. He is a Past President (1992 – 1993) and Paul Harris Fellow (1988) and a member of the Rotary Club of Blacktown City Inc since February 1975. David also serves on several Committees in Rotary District 9690. David was honoured on Australia Day 1995 as the Blacktown Citizen of the Year by Blacktown City Council. In the June 2009 Queen’s Birthday Honours David received a Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the community in Blacktown and to Rotary International. David was instrumental in establishing the TOP Advisory Board to provide assistance to Co-ordinator Graham Symes and to raise funds to finance the Program to ensure its on-going service to the community. David is also a Community representative on: – City of Blacktown’s Community Safety Co-ordinating Committee – BECAP (Blacktown Emerging Communities Action Plan) Committee – Blacktown Local Area Command – Community Safety Precinct Committee – Ability Options Ltd – Director

Honorary Vice Chairman Ian Faulks MAPS (Member, Australian Psychological Society)

Ian Faulks is a partner in Safety and Policy Analysis International, a trans-Pacific consultancy specialising in transportation safety, youth and substance abuse issues. In the course of the last 25 years of practice spanning Commonwealth and State public service, and Parliamentary service, Ian has provided advice at the highest levels to government and corporate clients. Ian has experience as a senior manager in the New South Wales legislature, as head of the secretariat for the Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (the STAYSAFE Committee, 1991 – 2006). He was also the foundation manager of the Committee for Children and Young People (2000 – 2003) and has been the manager of the Committee for the Independent Commission Against Corruption (2003 – 2006). In his earlier public sector career, Ian was Leader, Driver Test Development Unit, Roads and Traffic Authority, and Senior Behavioural Scientist at the Road Safety Bureau. Ian also is a vice chairman of the Australasian College of Road Safety; a member of the Australian Institute of Traffic Planning and Management; a member of the International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety; and is an active Rotarian.

Board Member Ken Fairfax B.Com LL.B

Ken has been a legal practitioner for 23 years and has worked extensively in Local and District Courts throughout suburban Sydney and New South Wales country areas. He has first hand experience of judicial frustration at the lack of sentencing alternatives for driving offenders (particularly offences involving the use of alcohol). Ken has been a partner in a Blacktown law firm from 1985 and opened his own practice in late 2005. Ken is a member and Past President (1995-1996) of the Rotary Club of Blacktown City Inc. In his capacity as Rotarian Ken became a ‘community’ member of the inaugural Advisory Board of management of the Traffic Offenders Program (TOP) Inc. There is support for our TOP as an effective education program for the reduction of trauma caused by traffic offenders which has the backing of statistical evidence.

Board Member Rudi Svarc MAITPM

Rudi has over 25 years professional experience in the areas of traffic management, road safety and transportation planning. Through this experience gained in senior transport positions in the NSW Roads and Traffic Authority, Baulkham Hills Shire Council and Blacktown City Council, Rudi has developed expertise in a broad range of traffic, road safety and transport areas. During employment with the RTA, Rudi held positions in both State and Local Road Network areas culminating in the position of Chairman of the Regional Development Committee for the Western Sydney area. Whilst at both Baulkham Hills Shire and Blacktown City Councils Rudi managed the Traffic and Transport Departments. Both Councils were and continue to be subject to periods of rapid growth in residential, commercial and industrial development that have required road safety and transport management strategies to ensure safe and efficient network development.

Board Member David Tynan

David currently holds the position of Road Safety Officer with Blacktown City Council. Prior to joining Council he was a management Consultant in project management, performance improvement and problem solving for 15 years working with almost all of the major organisations and all levels of Government in Australia. During that time he also developed and delivered the fleet vehicle driver training program, “Think & Drive, Risk Management for the Road”. This program has now been integrated into Blacktown City Council’s young driver program and is presented as part of Blacktown TOP. David was also an RTA accredited Motorcycle Riding Instructor for 6 years and an Advanced Motorcycle instructor with Stay Upright Pty Ltd. David is also a member of the Australasian College of Road Safety, the Institute of Public Works Engineers Australia and serves on the Executive of the Survive The Ride Association NSW.